Racing Blip: ALMS – Mid-Ohio Sports Car Challenge

By | August 4, 2012

#6 Muscle Milk Pickett Racing

Time to fire up the Xbox/laptop/cable box for Round 6 of the 2012 ALMS season. This time, the cars take to the track known as Mid-Ohio.

Qualifying was today, with the race scheduled for Saturday (8/4). Live streaming will start at 12:45pm EDT (10:45 MDT). Linear broadcast on ABC will start at 2pm EDT (12:00pm MDT).

What to watch for:

P1: I’m feel like I’m a broken record. Look for the #6 Muscle Milk/Honda to continue it’s 5 race winning streak. Dyson Racing/Mazda racing has been struggling this season, but they are looking better during qualifying today.

GT: What can be said when the top 5 cars in GT are separated by LESS then 1/4 of sec! Some of the most exciting racing out there! The Flying Lizards are coming into Mid-Ohio pissed. Their win at MoSport was pulled because of post-race stall test failure. So, expect them to be pushing hard. If rain hits, expect Falken Tire Porsche to take control of the class, as the did last year at this track. And expect solid efforts from the rest of the cars in the field. And a side note, something you may have heard – Yup, the Viper is back in ALMS! The Vipers are still in development, so don’t expect a win tomorrow. Regardless, it’s exciting to see another competitor in the GT class!!

For ways to catch the race, do the clicky thing here. And if you didn’t know, you can watch all of the previous races online / on the ESPN app on your Xbox.

[photo by Mike Gillilan]


Leave Your Comment

Your email will not be published or shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>