Racing Blip: Race of Champions

By | December 15, 2012

Race Of Champions

Race Of Champions – Vettel at Saturday Practice in a KTM X-Bow

What would happen if you get some of the best drivers from various racing disciplines, let them race in a variety of cars, on a closed stadium track?

You would have the Race of Campions. A yearly event dating back to 1989 with ex-Audi factory driver, Michèle Mouton, one of the best rally cross racers in the in world.

For the 25th running, this year the event happens in Bangkok, Thailand.

Racers such as Schumacher, Vettel, Kristensen, and Hunter-Reay. Drivers from F1, MotoGP, Le Mans, Indy Car, ALMS, ELMS, WEC. All compete in slew of cars. And speaking of cars, this year’s list includes: Audi R8 LMS, VW Sciroccos, Gallardo Super Trofeo, the “ROC” Car, KTM X-Bow, and the “Euro” Racecar (think a euro version of NASCAR), and everybody’s favorite, the Toyota GT86.

One neat thing about this Race of Campions, each racer has a turn in each car.

Sounds like a lot of fun?!? Wondering how you could watch it? Well, we weren’t able to send someone off to Bangkok to cover the race, so we’ll point you to the fine folks over at DRIVE whom will be covering the 2 day event.

First Rounds start today (12/15) at 7pm ET, 5pm MT, 4pm PT. You can view it live on DRIVE’s YouTube Channel.

[Photo ROC]


Leave Your Comment

Your email will not be published or shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>